

## CITY OF FRUITLAND

## 401 EAST MAIN STREET P.O. DRAWER F FRUITLAND, MARYLAND 21826-0120

TELEPHONE: 410-548-2800 ADMIN. FAX: 410-548-7450 FINANCE FAX: 410-548-4354



MICHAEL HAMMOND, President
ROLAND PALMER, Treasurer
MARK MICIOTTO, Councilor
RICHARD LEE. OUTEN, JR., Councilor
Councilor
MARCUS HENDERSON, City Manager
RAYE ELLEN THOMAS, City Clerk
STEVEN DOUTT, Deputy Treasurer
KRAH PLUNKERT, Chief of Police
MICHAEL GIBBONS, Public Works Director
ANDREW C. MITCHELL JR., City Solicitor

## FRUITLAND CITY COUNCIL 2024 GENERAL ELECTION

On Monday, October 7, 2024, a General Election for Two (2) seats on the Fruitland City Council was held in accordance with Article IV of the Fruitland City Charter. Prospective candidates were advised that Petitions of Candidacy would be available on July 8, 2024. The deadline for filing Petitions of Candidacy was September 9, 2024. At the end of the filing period the Seven (7) candidates which had filed to run for office were Current Councilman Mark Miciotto, Past Councilman Theodore Lokey, Planning Commission Councilor Derek Bland, Daryl Carter, Baron Hopkins, Joseph Kerr, and Willie Nicholson Jr. The deadline to withdraw Petitions of Candidacy was September 16, 2024. The Fruitland Ethics Commission certified the eligibility of each of the Seven (7) candidates on Tuesday, September 10, 2024.

On Sunday, September 22, 2024, a Public Notice detailing the date, time and location of the election was published in the The Daily Times. Also on Sunday, September 22, 2024, a Sample Ballot was published in The Daily Times. Both the Public Notice and Sample Ballot were also posted on the City website.

The election took place as advertised at Fruitland City Hall on Monday, October 7, 2024. Polls were open between 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. Of the Three Thousand Nine Hundred and Fourteen (3914) voters registered to vote in Fruitland City elections, One Hundred Eighty-Nine (189) voted at City Hall and Three (3) voted by absentee ballot; One absentee ballot was spoiled due to ineligibility; and Eight (8) in person ballots overvoted. The total number of voters equaled 192 voters; voter turnout was (4.93%).

At the conclusion of the voting, the ballots were counted by the Three (3) members of Board of Supervisors of Elections and then read by the City Clerk, in the presence of Current Council President Mike Hammond, Current Councilman Mark Miciotto, Current Councilman Roland Palmer, Past Councilman Theodore Lokey. Also present in the audience was Candidate Daryl Carter, Jordan Harris, Tre Byrd, Candidate Derek Bland, Patrick Kerr, Candidate Joseph Kerr, Chief Krah Plunkert, Maureen Plunkert, Jonathon Morton-Rollins, Corporal Benjamin Mills, City Solicitor Andrew Mitchell, City Manager Marc Henderson, Deputy Treasurer Steven Doutt, and Finance Coordinator Sheila Dennis. The official vote totals were as follows:

Mark Miciotto	89
Joseph Kerr	70
Willie Nicholson Jr	54
Derek Bland	51
Daryl Carter	34
Theodore Lokey	30
Baron Hopkins	18

Write in votes were cast as follows:

Judy Carey 1
Jordan Harris 1
Keith lott 1
Trever Dalec 1

Accordingly, the Board of Supervisors of Elections unanimously certified the election of Mark Miciotto and Joseph Kerr to the Fruitland City Council, they will be administered the Oath of Office by the City Clerk in public session at the regular City Council Meeting to be held on Tuesday, October 8, 2024, at 6:00 p.m.

The next regular election for the Fruitland City Council will be held on Monday, October 5, 2026. At that time, the seats now held by Michael Hammond, Richard (Lee) Outen Jr. and Roland Palmer will be up for contest.